Dr Mohamed AlTeneiji - Chief Researcher - Advanced Materials Research Centre - techxmedia

Abu Dhabi’s TII appoints international experts to board of advisors at AMRC

Featured Article

Abu Dhabi’s Technology Innovation Institute (TII), the applied research pillar of Abu Dhabi’s Advanced Technology Research Council (ATRC), announced the appointment of international experts to its Board of Advisors at the Advanced Materials Research Centre (AMRC).

Technology Innovation Institute (TII) is the dedicated ‘applied research’ pillar of Advanced Technology Research Council (ATRC). TII is a pioneering global research and development centre that focuses on applied research and new-age technology capabilities

Advanced Materials Research Centre (AMRC) – at Technology Innovation Institute (TII) – is dedicated to breakthrough developments in smart materials with practical use-cases. With a well-funded team of internationally recognised scientists, the Centre is exploring innovations in the use of metals and composites including, meta, nano, smart, self-healing, energy absorbing, additive manufacturing, and thermoplastic materials.

The appointments follow a series of rapid innovation announcements focused on innovations and sustained R & D at Technology Innovation Institute since the first Advanced Technology Research Council board meeting in August 2020.  

 Advanced Materials Research Centre  is one of the seven dedicated centresinitially established at the Technology Innovation Institute and is among the few global centresof its kindto bring together experts to conduct groundbreaking research in the field of advanced materials. Employing and collaborating with 54 scientists, researchers, and engineers in the areas of research the Centre is currently focusing on nanomaterials, energy absorbing materials, additive manufacturing and 3D printing, metamaterials, smart materials, self-healing and high temperature thermoplastic materials. The newly appointed Board of Advisors will guide efforts to develop breakthrough technologies for global impact.

The Board of Advisors include Prof. Stefan Maier, Chair in Hybrid Nanosystems, Faculty of Physics, at Ludwig-Maximilians-UniversitätMünchen and Lee-Lucas Chair in Experimental Physics at Imperial College London;Prof. Robert Li,Professor and Acting Head of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and Associate Dean of the College of Science and Engineering and Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies at City University of Hong Kong (CityU); Prof. Xinhua Wu,Pro-Vice Chancellor (Precinct Partnerships) at Monash Universityand Director of Monash International Advanced Manufacturing Hub.; Prof. Vikram Deshpande, simulation pioneerand Professor of Materials Engineering, Department of Engineering at the University of Cambridge in the UK; Prof. Genevieve Langdon, Material Characterisation Leader and Professor of Blast and Impact Engineering at the University of Sheffield in the UK and Honorary Professor at the University of Cape Town (UCT) in South Africa; Prof. Wesley Cantwell, Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Associate Dean for Research at Khalifa University, Director of the Aerospace Research and Innovation Center (ARIC) in the UAE; andProf. Fátima Montemor,  Vice-President of Técnico for Research and International Affairs, Técnico professor at the Department of Chemical Engineering (DEQ) and researcher at Centro de QuímicaEstrutural (CQE) in Portugal.

Speaking on the new appointments, Dr Mohamed AlTeneiji, Chief Researcher at Advanced Materials Research Centre, said: “Advanced materials and composites are invaluable in different areas of life today – from electronics to optics to healthcare, they revolutionise the way companies do business and require continuous R & D to maximise their benefits. Despite being a new entrant in the field, we are proud of the world-leading research the Centre is currently engaged in, and remain confident about the significance of its practical outcomes on industries or life in general.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *