To emphasise the company’s dedication to user well-being, Meta is reiterating the security and privacy settings offered to Facebook users. The new “Lock Your Profile” function is for those who want greater control over their Facebook app experience, especially women. The feature is now available in seven MENA countries: Egypt, Iraq, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Turkey, and the United Arab Emirates.
Here’s a quick rundown of the advantages, along with some pointers on how to make it happen:
The new “Lock Your Profile” function restricts access to your profile, allowing you to control your own app experience at your leisure.
Non-friends can’t zoom into, share, or download your profile or cover photographs if this functionality is enabled.
They won’t be able to see any of the photos you’ve shared on your timeline at any time (both historic and new).
Women, in particular, may now manage who sees their personal information and prevent it from being misused by strangers.
How to use the “Lock Your Profile” feature
Simply tap the three dots under your name to enable this new feature.
You should see the Lock Your Profile option in the three-dot menu; click it.
This page will demonstrate how locking works, with a Lock Your Profile option at the bottom. Select it by clicking on it.
Your account has been locked.
To achieve the same result, go to ‘Settings and Privacy,’ then ‘Audience and Visibility,’ then ‘Profile Locking.’
How to unlock your profile
You will now see an Unlock Profile option instead of the Lock Your Profile option.
On the following screen, tap it and select Unlock.
At the bottom of the page, you’ll find a brief explanation of how unlocking your profile works, as well as the option to Unlock Your Profile.
Your profile will be accessible once you click on it.
Remember that if you enable this option, you won’t be able to make any public posts. This is done to prevent any unintentional posting.